Photo Aug 22-2.jpeg

     After years of touring in support of the 2015 debut 'Compadre', McNeal and longtime drummer Andre Black return with 'Good Luck', an LP recorded by Grammy award-winning Ted Young (Kurt Vile, The Rolling Stones). Backed by an all-star band, the album weaves in and out of genre atop the analog hiss of a 1971 tape machine. Matthew McNeal delivers inventive storytelling over a groove-laden soundtrack, sonically mirroring the dynamic landscapes seen while weaving across the country. The LP was released in February 2018 via Matte Black Sound Company.

McNeal and Black released follow-up singles ‘Change’ and ‘All For Nothing’ in the Fall as the band wrapped up the Good Luck touring cycle alongside Israel Nash.

The band’s latest single ‘Michael’ - a song in memory of Matthew’s father - was released on January 4th, both McNeal’s birthday as well as the anniversary of his father’s passing.

You can catch Matthew McNeal on the road throughout 2019.


Album Art Mock-up.jpeg

'GOOD LUCK' LP - OUT 2/16/18

     Striving to bring analog sounds and high-caliber songwriting into the modern era without gimmick, Matthew and long-time drummer Andre Black teamed up with Israel Nash and his band at Nash's Plum Creek Sound studio in the heart of the Texas hill country. With Grammy award-winning Ted Young at the helm of a 16-track tape machine, the group spent four days recording nine tracks that would become 'Good Luck', Matthew's second studio album. The collection of work presents a youthful take on analog production, blurring the lines between genre with inventive musicality and lyricism with a sense of clarity.

     During the record's 34-minute runtime, a listener is due to experience the edge that alternative music carries, the unbound emotion of soul, and the raw energy of rock & roll. Good Luck was released on February 16, 2018 through McNeal's own Matte Black Sound Company.

"It’s dramatic, it’s ambitious and it embodies brilliant flourishes. Well-thought out and executed the album surprisingly becomes one that has tunes that leave you wanting more."        - John Apice (No Depression) on 'Compadre'